[Settings> Add New Profile]: 'Discard changes' control performing 'Delete profile' functionality inside newly created profile. #16267

Open
opened 2026-01-31 05:02:09 +00:00 by claunia · 2 comments
Owner

Originally created by @ghost on GitHub (Dec 27, 2021).

Windows Terminal version

1.12.3472.0

Windows build number

10.0.22504.1010

Other Software

Test Environment:
OS: Windows 11 Version Dev (OS Build 22504.1010)
App: Windows Terminal Preview
Screen Reader: Narrator

Steps to reproduce

Repro Steps:
Open Windows Terminal.
Open Settings page using 'Ctr+,'.
Activate 'Add a new profile' tab, then activate 'New Empty profile' or 'Duplicate' button.
Then activate 'Discard Changes' button inside newly created profile.
Observe the issue.

User Experience:
All users UX will not be good if inappropriate functionality is performed on activating a control.

Attachments:
Profile get deleted When user activate 'Discard changes' control in newly created profile and Keyboard focus jumps to 'Discard Changes' inside Startup page..zip

Expected Behavior

'Discard changes' control should not perform 'Delete profile' functionality inside newly created profile.

Actual Behavior

'Discard changes' control performing 'Delete profile' functionality inside newly created profile. Profile get deleted When user activate 'Discard changes' control in newly created profile and Keyboard focus jumps to 'Discard Changes' inside Startup page..

Originally created by @ghost on GitHub (Dec 27, 2021). ### Windows Terminal version 1.12.3472.0 ### Windows build number 10.0.22504.1010 ### Other Software **Test Environment:** OS: Windows 11 Version Dev (OS Build 22504.1010) App: Windows Terminal Preview Screen Reader: Narrator ### Steps to reproduce **Repro Steps:** Open Windows Terminal. Open Settings page using 'Ctr+,'. Activate 'Add a new profile' tab, then activate 'New Empty profile' or 'Duplicate' button. Then activate 'Discard Changes' button inside newly created profile. Observe the issue. **User Experience:** All users UX will not be good if inappropriate functionality is performed on activating a control. **Attachments:** [Profile get deleted When user activate 'Discard changes' control in newly created profile and Keyboard focus jumps to 'Discard Changes' inside Startup page..zip](https://github.com/microsoft/terminal/files/7778817/Profile.get.deleted.When.user.activate.Discard.changes.control.in.newly.created.profile.and.Keyboard.focus.jumps.to.Discard.Changes.inside.Startup.page.zip) ### Expected Behavior 'Discard changes' control should not perform 'Delete profile' functionality inside newly created profile. ### Actual Behavior 'Discard changes' control performing 'Delete profile' functionality inside newly created profile. Profile get deleted When user activate 'Discard changes' control in newly created profile and Keyboard focus jumps to 'Discard Changes' inside Startup page..
Author
Owner

@zadjii-msft commented on GitHub (Jan 3, 2022):

When you've added a new profile, but haven't yet saved the settings, then "discarding" the settings makes sense to delete the profile - this new profile is part of the unsaved settings to the Terminal. Discarding the settings at this point will of course remove this newly created but yet unsaved profile, and reload the original settings. This is by design, can we get it resolved as such @v-rpundir?

@zadjii-msft commented on GitHub (Jan 3, 2022): When you've added a new profile, but haven't yet saved the settings, then "discarding" the settings makes sense to delete the profile - this new profile is part of the unsaved settings to the Terminal. Discarding the settings at this point will of course remove this newly created but yet unsaved profile, and reload the original settings. This is by design, can we get it resolved as such @v-rpundir?
Author
Owner

@ghost commented on GitHub (Jan 5, 2022):

@zadjii-msft I am still feeling this behavior inappropriate because when we create/Duplicate a profile, did some changes, then when we discard changes, profile get deleted.
Refer video attachment to see above use case: Use Case.zip

Suggestion Fix: New Profile gets automatically saved when we create/duplicate a profile.

@ghost commented on GitHub (Jan 5, 2022): @zadjii-msft I am still feeling this behavior inappropriate because when we create/Duplicate a profile, did some changes, then when we discard changes, profile get deleted. Refer video attachment to see above use case: [Use Case.zip](https://github.com/microsoft/terminal/files/7814857/Use.Case.zip) Suggestion Fix: New Profile gets automatically saved when we create/duplicate a profile.
Sign in to join this conversation.
1 Participants
Notifications
Due Date
No due date set.
Dependencies

No dependencies set.

Reference: starred/terminal#16267